5 Fresh Ways to Style a White Shirt for Summer

The classic white button-up shirt is a must-have piece in our wardrobes year-round, but during the summer months, we really like to shake things up. To take the classic white shirt and give it a summery twist, look for standout details (hello, tie sleeves), fun silhouettes, and fresh ways to wear the button-ups you already own. Follow the five tips below and this work wardrobe staple will look anything but boring.

VIDEO: 6 Investment Pieces Every Woman Should Own

Sign up for our shopping newsletter


1 of 5
Ericka McConnell

Try a Wrap-Style White Shirt

Pretty and practical, a wrap style is fully adjustable and ensures a neat, no-gape fit.

To buy: Joie Wrap blouse, $175; zappos.com. Banana Republic Boucle Stripe shorts, $58; bananarepublic.com. Chan Luu Large Handwoven Bamboo basket, $95; chanluu.com. Marigold Mix Basket Tassel charm, $25; chanluu.com. A.V. Max Bold Square bangle, $45; avmaxnyc.com. Sarah Chloe Multi Wire band, $119; sarahchloe.com.


2 of 5
Ericka McConnell

Look for an Unexpected Silhouette

Look for updates like surprising silhouettes and tie sleeves. They make the closet classic feel anything but basic.

To buy: OS Cotton-Linen with Gathered Sleeves top, $99; cosstores.com. Madewell Wide Leg Crop jeans, $128; madewell.com. Universal Thread Avianna Low Vamp mules, $28; target.com. The9thMuse Maria ring, $136; the9thmuse.com.


3 of 5
Ericka McConnell

Do the Twist

To get this look, secure the button at your bustline only, cross the shirttails, and tuck. Voilà! Effortless summer style.

For a white-on-white ensemble that’s crisp and clean, steer clear of creamy or gray tones.

To buy: NYDJ Wide Placket shirt, $88; nydj.com. Oak + Fort tank, $38; oakandfort.com. L’Agence Danica Wide Leg jeans, $255; lagencefashion.com. Dolce Vita Haya sandals, $120; dolcevita.com. Lulus Hotsy Totsy sunglasses, $16; lulus.com. Adina Reyter Bar Chain necklace, $650; adinareyter.com.


4 of 5
Ericka McConnell

Wear It as a Layer

Feeling too … buttoned-up? Try leaving the shirt open and wearing it as a layer, or opt for design details—short sleeves, ladder stitching, a lightweight linen blend—that offer a relaxed, weekend vibe.

To buy: (Left) Gap Fitted Boyfriend shirt, $50; gap.com. Everlane linen muscle tank (similar), $28; everlane.com. A.P.C. Etroit Court jeans, $220; usonline.apc.fr. Old Navy Denim Chore jacket, $40; oldnavy.com. Oak + Fort necklace, $24; oakandfort.com. (Right) Scotch & Soda Short Sleeve Boxy Fit button-up, $138; scotch-soda.com. Ann Taylor The Crop pants, $79; anntaylor.com. Clyde New Romantic hat, $274; clyde.world. Tribe + Glory Ankole Horn bangle set, $65; tribeandglory.com.


5 of 5
Ericka McConnell

Pair It With Summer Essentials

Pair a button-up shirt with summery styles, like a casual maxi skirt and sandals, to create an unexpected warm-weather silhouette.

To buy: Lucky Brand Solid Short Sleeve top, $70; luckybrand.com. COS Elongated Cotton skirt, $99; cosstores.com. A.V. Talbots Gia Toe Ring Flat sandals, $80; talbots.com. Galpon.co Ombra White Original Panama hat, $95; galpon.co. Monica Vinader Linear Stone bracelet, $295; monicavinader.com.

Source: Read Full Article