British Soap Awards 2019 shortlist revealed as EastEnders and Hollyoaks lead way

The shortist for the British Soap Awards 2019 has been announced and EastEnders and Hollyoaks lead the way on the nomination front.

Coronation Street may have won big at the 20th anniversary in 2018, taking home the award for Best British Soap, but it will be a tougher decision this time around.

The awards, which are hosted by Phillip Schofield on Saturday, June 1 from Manchester’s Lowry Theatre, will be broadcast live on ITV.

You can vote for three categories, Best Soap, Best Actor and Best Actress, from 10am on Tuesday, April 30 by going to .

The remaining categories are decided by a panel of industry experts.

Here is the full list of nominations.

Best British Soap
Coronation Street

Best Actor
Jack P Shepherd (David Platt, Coronation Street)
Danny Dyer (Mick Carter, EastEnders)
Zack Morris (Keegan Baker, EastEnders)
Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle, Emmerdale)
Gregory Finnegan (James Nightingale, Hollyoaks)

Best Actress
Alison King (Carla Connor, Coronation Street)
Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor, EastEnders)
Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle, Emmerdale)
Stephanie Davis (Sinead Shelby, Hollyoaks)
Lauren McQueen (Lily McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Villain of the Year
Greg Wood (Rick Neelan, Coronation Street)
Matthew Chambers (Daniel Granger, Doctors)
Ricky Champ (Stuart Highway, EastEnders)
Claire King (Kim Tate, Emmerdale)
Nathan Sussex (Buster Smith, Hollyoaks)

Best Comedy Performance
Patti Clare (Mary Cole, Coronation Street)
Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman, Doctors)
Tameka Empson (Kim Fox, EastEnders)
Nicola Wheeler (Nicola King, Emmerdale)
Jessamy Stoddart (Liberty Savage, Hollyoaks)

Best Newcomer
Alexandra Mardell (Emma Brooker, Coronation Street)
Bethan Moore (Izzie Torres, Doctors)
Ricky Champ (Stuart Highway, EastEnders)
James Moore (Ryan Stocks, Emmerdale)
Talia Grant (Brooke Hathaway, Hollyoaks)

Best Storyline
The Impact of Aidan's Suicide (Coronation Street)
Daniel and Zara's Breakup (Doctors)
Knife Crime (EastEnders)
Charity's Abuse (Emmerdale)
Footballer Abuse (Hollyoaks)

Best Single Episode
Aidan's Suicide and the Aftermath (Coronation Street)
And the Beat Goes On… (Doctors)
Consent (EastEnders)
Chas & Paddy Say Goodbye to Baby Grace (Emmerdale)
Where Do I Belong? (Hollyoaks)

Best Male Dramatic Performance
Rob Mallard (Daniel Osborne, Coronation Street)
Ian Midlane (Al Haskey, Doctors)
Zack Morris (Keegan Baker, EastEnders)
Dominic Brunt (Paddy Kirk, Emmerdale)
Adam Woodward (Brody Hudson, Hollyoaks)

Best Female Dramatic Performance
Katie McGlynn (Sinead Tinker, Coronation Street)
Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Zara Carmichael, Doctors)
Gillian Wright (Jean Slater, EastEnders)
Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle, Emmerdale)
Nadine Mulkerrin (Cleo McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Best On-Screen Partnership
Simon Gregson & Kate Ford (Steve & Tracy McDonald, Coronation Street)
Ian Midlane & Adrian Lewis-Morgan (Al Haskey & Jimmi Clay, Doctors)
Roger Griffiths & Kara-Leah Fernandes (Mitch & Bailey Baker, EastEnders)
Lucy Pargeter & Dominic Brunt (Chas Dingle & Paddy Kirk, Emmerdale)
Nick Pickard & Alex Fletcher (Tony & Diane Hutchinson, Hollyoaks)

Best Young Actor
Elle Mulvaney (Amy Barlow, Coronation Street)
Oliver Falconer (Joe Granger-Carmichael, Doctors)
Kara-Leah Fernandes (Bailey Baker, EastEnders)
Joe Warren-Plant (Jacob Gallagher, Emmerdale)
Lacey Findlow (Dee Dee Hutchinson, Hollyoaks)

Scene of the Year
Gail's Monologue (Coronation Street)
The Crash (Doctors)
Shakil's Funeral (EastEnders)
Cain's Confession (Emmerdale)
Brody Confronts His Abuser, Buster (Hollyoaks)

You can vote for three categories, Best Soap, Best Actor and Best Actress, from 10am on Tuesday 30th April at – the remaining categories are decided by a panel of industry experts.

Do you have a story to sell? Get in touch with us at [email protected] or call us direct 0207 29 33033.

Source: Read Full Article