Boris Johnson suffers more resignations than any PM in 90 years – full list of MPs & aides who have quit | The Sun

BORIS Johnson WILL resign after he suffered the highest number of government resignations of any Prime Minister in 90 years.

In a brutal three day period, more than 50 government members stood down from their post.

It's the highest number of any government since 1932.

The tidal wave of resignations has been described as a Westminster bloodbath.

And it has prompted the PM to step down with an announcement expected today.

Sajid Javid kicked off the coup at 6.02pm on Tuesday night.

In a bombshell letter, the former Health Secretary told the PM he no longer believes government is competent or acting in the public’s best interest.


Major backbench MPs meeting TONIGHT to oust the PM – but he may quit first

Defiant Boris Johnson vows to ‘keep going’ as Sajid Javid blasts: ‘Enough’

He said: "The country needs a strong and principled Conservative Party, and the Party is bigger than any one individual.

"I served you loyally and as a friend, but we all serve the country first. When made to choose between those loyalties there can only be one answer."

Javid was followed just minutes later by Tory leadership contender Rishi Sunak.

In a blistering attack the former Chancellor said: “The public rightly expect government to be conducted properly, competently and seriously.

Most read in The Sun


Love Island fans slam ‘snake’ Islander for ‘playing games’ to stay on show


I didn’t put mine & Paddy’s marriage in this situation, says Christine McGuinness

home time

Love Island fans spot ‘clue’ one islander is brutally dumped after Casa Amor


The cheapest holiday destination for Brits this year – where beer is just £1.66

“I recognise this may be my last ministerial job, but I believe these standards are worth fighting for and that is why I am resigning.”

Javid and Sunak’s moves away from government were not coordinated.

But they triggered an onslaught of resignations from the lower two rungs of government.

Tory MPs are now united in believing the PM cannot go on any longer.

But the PM remains defiant – and has refused to step down – even sacking Michael Gove as Secretary of State for Levelling Up.

Since Javid the following MPs have resigned:


Andrew Murrison – Former trade envoy to Morocco Andrew Murrison stood down at 7pm.

Bim Afolami –Tory Party Vice Chair Bim Afolami resigned at 7.28pm.

Jonathan Gullis –Northern Ireland PPS and former ultra-loyalist to the PM Jonathan Gullis resigned at 7.48pm.

Saqib Bhatti – PPS to Mr Javid Saqib Bhatti followed his boss out the door at 7.51pm.

Nicola Richards – Transport PPS Nicola Richards resigned at 8.27pm.

Virginia Crosbie – Wales PPS Virginia Crosby said bye bye to BoJo at 8.55pm. 

Theo Clarke – The trade envoy to Kenya resigned at 8.01pm.

Alex Chalk – Solicitor General and long-time waverer Alex Chalk stepped down at 10.51pm. He was the last of Tuesday night’s tidal wave of resignations.


Laura Trott – Tory rising star and Transport PPS Laura Trott kicked off Wednesday's resignation marathon at 8.07am.

Will Quince – Children’s minister Will Quince followed Ms Trott with a letter sent off at 8.25am.

Robin Walker – Education minister Robin Walker quit government at 9.43am. 

Felicity Buchan – Business PPS Felicity Buchan resigned at 11.05am.

John Glen – Treasury Minister John Glen resigned at 11.06am.

Vicky Atkins – Home Office Minister Victoria Atkins posted her resignation letter at 11.32am. 

Jo Churchill – Environment Minister resigned just after noon.

Stuart Andrew – resigned as a Housing Minister.

Claire Coutinho – Resigned as a ministerial aide at the Treasury

Selaine Saxby – Resigned as a ministerial aide at the Treasury

David Johnston – Quit as a parliamentary private secretary to the Education Department.

Mims Davies – Quit as employment minister at 2.26pm.

Neil O'BrienAlex BurghartKemi Badenoch, Lee Rowley and Julia Lopez – All ministers walked out at 2.30 in a coordinated letter with four other colleagues.

Craig Williams – Treasury PPS Craig Williams resigned at just before 3.30pm

Mark Logan – Quit as a parliamentary private secretary at 3.35.

Rachel Maclean – Quit as safeguarding minister at 3.45.

Mike Freer – Chucked in the towel as Equalities Minister at 4pm.

Peter Gibson – Resigned as a ministerial aide

Mark Fletcher – Resigned as a ministerial aide.

Sara Britcliffe – Resigned as a ministerial aide.

James Sunderland – Resigned as a ministerial aide.

Ruth Edwards – Resigned as a ministerial aide.

Jacob Young – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary.

James Daly – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary.

Danny Kruger – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary.

David Duguid – Resigned as trade envoy to Angola and Zambia.

David Mundell – Resigned as trade envoy for New Zealand.

Alex Burghart – Resigned as education minister.

Edward Argar – Resigned as health minister.

Duncan Baker – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary.

Gareth Davies – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary.

James Davies – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary.

Simon Hart – Resigned as Wales Secretary.


Brandon Lewis – Resigned as Northern Ireland Secretary.

Helen Whatley – Resigned as Treasury minister.

Damian Hinds – Resigned as Security minister.

George Freeman – Resigned as Science and Innovation minister.

Guy Opperman – Resigned as Pensions minister.

Chris Philp – Resigned as Technology minister.

James Cartlidge – Resigned as Courts minister

Michelle Donelan – Resigned as Education Secretary

Richard Graham – Resigned as trade envoy to the Philippines.

Fay Jones – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary to the Leader of the House of Commons.

Caroline Johnson – Resigned as Conservative Party vice-chair.

Luke Hall – Resigned as deputy chair of the Conservative Party.

Rob Butler – Resigned as parliamentary private secretary at the Foreign Office.

Rebecca Pow – Resigned as parliamentary under-secretary of state at the Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs.

    Source: Read Full Article