Jeff Bridges To Be Honored With Cecil B. DeMille Award At Golden Globes

Golden Globe and Academy Award winner Jeff Bridges is set to receive the Cecil B. deMille Award at the 76th annual Golden Globe Awards. The ceremony, which will be hosted by Sandra Oh and Andy Samberg, will air live on NBC at 5 pm PT on January 6, 2019.

“The Hollywood Foreign Press Association is delighted to bestow the 2019 Cecil B. deMille Award on Jeff Bridges. Bridges’ brilliant body of work across diverse genres has captured the hearts and minds of audiences worldwide for more than six decades,” said HFPA President Meher Tatna. “We look forward to celebrating “the Dude” and his remarkable career and philanthropic achievements at the upcoming Golden Globe Awards.”

Bridges has appeared in many Hollywood’s most memorable films as characters who have reached iconic status including the aforementioned robe-clad, White Russian-guzzling “The Dude” in The Big Lebowski and “Rooster Cogburn” in the 2010 remake if True Grit. He also starred in The Fabulous Baker Boys and Crazy Heart, which earned him Golden Globe and Academy Award. Some of his more recent work include Bad Times at the El RoyaleKingsman: The Golden Circle as well as the critically acclaimed Hell or High Water, which earned him a Golden Globe nomination. He received his first Golden Globe nomination in 1984 for Starman and then went on to receive numerous others for his roles in The Fisher King and The Contender. His company AsIs Productions produced Hidden in America received a Golden Globe nomination in 1996 for Best Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television.

Bridges can be seen next in the Susan Kucera documentary Living in The Future’s Past, a documentary that focuses on current environmental challenges. He also founded the End Hunger Network in 1983. He is currently the national spokesman for the Share Our Strength/No Kid Hungry campaign that is fighting to end childhood hunger in America.

Chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors, the Cecil B. deMille Award is given annually to a talented individual who has made a lasting impact on the world of entertainment. Last year’s honoree was Oprah Winfrey. Previous recipients include George Clooney, Robert De Niro, Audrey Hepburn, Harrison Ford, Jodie Foster, Sophia Loren, Sidney Poitier, Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Meryl Streep, Barbra Streisand, Denzel Washington, Robin Williams, and others.

Source: Read Full Article