Why the Strictly Come Dancing glitterball trophy will look different this year

Strictly Come Dancing season 16 is almost upon us – with the BBC recently announcing the full line-up.

So far the show is keeping everything we know and love, teaming up a celebrity with a professional dancer to perform each week in a whirlwind of fake tan and sequins.

But there is just one tiny change that won’t be spotted until this year’s winner goes to lift up the famous glitterball.

Following 15 winners, it now means there’s not enough space left on the trophy for another name to be added.

The BBC confirmed to Radio Times that the glitterball will be mounted on a bigger base so another engraved plaque can be put on.

The latest winner will see their name carved below Natasha Kaplinsky, Jill Halfpenny, Darren Gough, Mark Ramprakash, Alesha Dixon, Tom Chambers, Chris Hollins, Kara Tointon, Harry Judd, Louis Smith, Abbey Clancy, Caroline Flack, Jay McGuiness, Ore Oduba and Joe McFadden.

That’s going to be one heavy trophy.

Yesterday (August 21) saw the final two contestants announced, as What Not to Wear star Susannah Constantine and EastEnders actor Charles Venn revealed they will be taking to the dance floor when the show returns in autumn.

Earlier this week, Blue singer and former EastEnders actor Lee Ryan and Paralympian Lauren Steadman confirmed their places on the show.

They’ll be rounding out a line-up that includes Ashley Roberts and Faye Tozer from pop groups the Pussycat Dolls and Steps respectively, actor Danny John-Jules, cricketer Graeme Swann and YouTuber Joe Sugg.

This year’s Strictly squad also features BBC newsreader Kate Silverton, charity campaigner Katie Piper, This Morning‘s resident physician Dr. Ranj Singh, comic Seann Walsh, Capital FM presenter Vick Hope and journalist Stacey Dooley.

Strictly Come Dancing will return to BBC One in the autumn.

Source: Read Full Article