What tier is MY area? Full list of every Tier area in England as London & parts of south plunged into harsh restrictions

LONDON and parts of the south are set to be plunged into harsher Tier 3 restrictions from midnight tomorrow.

The capital, parts of Essex and Hertfordshire will face harsher restrictions from Wednesday after a "sharp rise in cases" and the detection of a new strain of Covid that is believed to be spreading faster than the original.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

Speaking to MPs earlier today (December 14) Mr Hancock said that in some areas the doubling time of the number of new cases is as short as seven days.

Mr Hancock said this afternoon: "When the virus is growing exponentially, there is not a moment to spare."

Greater London, the South and West of Essex and the south of Hertfordshire will be plunged into Tier 3 from 12.01am on Wednesday.

"Hospitals across the countries of Essex and Kent are already under pressure, and we know the doubling of cases will be mirrored in hospital admissions, and it only takes a few doublings for the NHS to be overwhelmed," the Health Secretary said.

The emergency plans will mean pubs and restaurants will be forced to shut.

People in Tier 3 are not allowed to meet up with anyone from outside their household, except for in outdoor public places such as parks.

London Mayor Sadiq Khan said: "This is incredibly disappointing for our businesses who have suffered so much already this year.

"But it’s clear that the virus is accelerating in the wrong direction once again across London and the lives of Londoners are at risk."

It comes as a new strain of coronavirus which spreads even faster has been identified in large parts of England.

The Health Secretary told MPs that a new "variant" has been discovered in up to 60 places across the UK – and the World Health Organisation has been informed.

In Essex, Basildon, Brentwood, Harlow, Epping Forest, Castle Point, Rochford, Braintree & Chelmsford, Thurrock and South-End-on-Sea borough councils will all be in the toughest measures.

And in Hertfordshire, the areas that will go into Tier 3 are Broxbourne, Hertsmere, Watford and the Three Rivers local authority area.

Mr Hancock said: "This action is absolutely essential, not just to keep people safe, but because we've seen early action can help prevent more damaging and longer lasting problems later."

It comes after Mayor of London Sadiq Khan revealed that cases in the capital had risen by 75 per cent.

The full list

Tier 1: Medium alert

South East

  • Isle of Wight

South West

  • Cornwall
  • Isles of Scilly

Tier 2: High alert

North West

  • Cumbria
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Warrington and Cheshire


  • York
  • North Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

  • Rutland
  • Northamptonshire

East of England

  • Suffolk
  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough
  • Norfolk
  • Parts of Hertfordshire
  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes
  • Parts of Essex

South East

  • East Sussex
  • West Sussex
  • Brighton and Hove
  • Surrey
  • Reading
  • Wokingham
  • Bracknell Forest
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire

South West

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Dorset
  • Bournemouth
  • Christchurch
  • Poole
  • Gloucestershire
  • Wiltshire and Swindon
  • Devon

Tier 3: Very High alert


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

North East

  • Tees Valley Combined Authority:
  • Hartlepool
  • Middlesbrough
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Darlington
  • North East Combined Authority:
  • Sunderland
  • South Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Newcastle upon Tyne
  • North Tyneside
  • County Durham
  • Northumberland

North West

  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

  • The Humber
  • West Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Leicester and Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire

South East

  • Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)
  • Kent and Medway
  • Parts of Hertfordshire
  • Essex – Basildon, Brentwood, Harlow, Epping Forest, Castle Point, Rochford, Maldon, Braintree, Chelsmford, Thurrock and Southend-On-Sea borough council areas
  • Hertfordshire – Broxbourne, Hertsmere, Watford, The Three Ricers Local authority area

South West

  • Bristol
  • South Gloucestershire
  • North Somerset

On December 2 almost all of the country was plunged into Tier 2 and Tier 3 rules after a four-week lockdown.

The new system was given the green light after being approved by MPs in last night's Commons vote despite a strong backbench rebellion.

After the four-week lockdown, London initially avoided Tier 3, which allowed pubs and restaurants to remain open.

Mr Hancock said the decision over what Tier each area is put into depends on five crucial indicators.

The most important factor is the anticipated pressure on local NHS services and whether there is a risk it could become overwhelmed by soaring case numbers.

But Mr Hancock stressed there is no "automatic" number of new cases that pushes an area into a higher Tier.

Another factor is on the nature of an outbreak – if one area has a very high number of cases but it is confined to one school or workplace, then it might not be given stricter rules.

Other indicators are the speed at which cases are rising and falling – as well as the number of coronavirus cases across all age groups, and crucially the number of new infections in the over 65s.


Tier 3 includes areas of “very high” risk, where coronavirus transmission rates are of the greatest concern.

In these areas households are not allowed to mix either indoors or outdoors in private gardens.

Pubs and bars have closed in the very high alert level areas – except for takeaway.

People have also been advised against travel in and out of the areas.  

But they will get access to new rapid-result tests for everyone which gives tests in under an hour, a strategy which has seen Liverpool's cases drop drastically.

They hope that means they can easily escape the tougher rules and move down a tier.


Areas in Tier Two – where there is a high risk of coronavirus – are banned from mixing with other households indoors, including in pubs.

When outside, the rule of six applies.

Current social distancing measures, and the "rule of six" outdoors in public and private spaces will continue in this tier.

Pubs must serve a meal with drinks and last orders will be at 10pm with a closing time of 11pm.


Areas in Tier 1 — where there is medium risk of the virus — will be subject to current social distancing measures, the “rule of six” and pubs can stay open until 11pm.

Six people are allowed to meet indoors.

Schools, universities and places of worship remain open.

Weddings and funerals can go ahead with restrictions on the number of attendees.

Source: Read Full Article